Much Needed

Vacation!

I have just returned from our annual visit to Bayfield, Wisconsin.

Four amazing days!

Lake Superior is as breathtaking as ever. The Apostle Islands are more majestic than I remember.

The air was so fresh. The sun so bright. Even a full day of rain provided an unexpected air of tranquility. I read for hours. Finished one book and started another. I can’t tell you the last time I read an entire book.

We took boat rides to some of the islands, and spent a day on a beautiful and quiet beach. We watched kayakers paddle to across the water. I dipped my toes and then some. There is just something about the lake life. It’s … undemanding. I could get used to it.

I relaxed. I walked along the lake. I slept. Like a baby! Deep, peaceful, dreamless sleep. It’s been forever…

And I paddle boarded for the first time ever.

IMG_4379

I loved it! I must get myself one of these. This is the land of 10,000 lakes. No reason I can’t put one to good use.

I came home determined to change one or two little things. Relaxing should be a more regular part of my life.

8 thoughts on “Much Needed

  1. Well, that sounds like a much needed trip, and it couldn’t have come at a better time. SO happy for you.
    I paddle boarded for the first time a few years ago in Florida. Great fun, isn’t it? You look good up on that board! Go get your own…. 🙂

    Like

  2. THAT picture needs to be a screen saver at work – at those holy-wow moments when you’re stressed and frazzled – you will instantly feel your shoulders retreat from your ears.

    Agreed, something about being at the lake takes us all back in time — sleep is deep, dreams return and breathing slows …. ahh~!!

    -MJ

    Like

  3. Sounds blissful, Tee — and such a necessary thing, after the year you’ve had! Glad you found time to de-stress and chill. Nothing better than a good book, a calm lake, and restful sleep!

    Like

  4. You definitely needed the vacation. I am at a point in life where spending a vacation quietly reading a book or two is preferable. Sometimes life is way too busy/full and we all need a break.

    Like

  5. Sounds like a wonderful vacation. My ideal vacation is staying at home and doing nothing (to the chagrin of my mom and housemate).
    But i understand you normal people who need to be elsewhere and enjoy stuff 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

