c’est la vie

During the later half of last week, there was rain, rain and more rain. Spring is gradually pushing winter out of the way, as evidenced by the mama ducks I noticed hanging around the building at work. They’re probably making nests in the landscaping, the pond being just a few yards beyond the parking lot. One of the ducks made me laugh as she paced in front of the glass doors, peeking inside and eyeing up employees coming and going from the nearby copy room.

Yesterday (Saturday) morning, I awoke to a fiercely howling wind. Or maybe it was Lucy all snuggled against me that woke me. While still sleeping, I’d unconsciously sacrificed my own comfort for hers. All of my blankets  had been pulled off of me and were pinched beneath her. I was shivering, curled up in an unnatural position and had a clear ache radiating up my neck and into my head. Lucy makes herself comfortable like this when she’s cold and wants to warm up. Good thing we love that dog so much, ’cause sometimes she pushes her limits!

When I wandered into the kitchen to grab a cup of coffee, I noticed the yard was dusted in snow. The wind continued to howl, and Lucy spent the morning sitting and looking curiously out the patio door. Last week when Chesney was home, she’d pulled an adirondack chair out of the shed – some cheap plastic thing the former neighbors had gifted to her when they moved to their new home. Chesney had plunked the chair on the deck with the intent of sitting outside in the sunshine before realizing it wasn’t really that warm. She abandoned the idea altogether, but of course, never put the chair away again and it’s been on the deck ever since. Yesterday, the wind pushed it back and forth across the wooden decking all morning long. Lucy was fascinated, her head  moving right to left, over and over as her eyes followed the drifting chair.

Another week has come and gone too quickly and I find myself surprised that it’s already April. Middle son, Ryker turned twenty-five yesterday! We celebrated with a breakfast of birthday donuts and then he took off to spend the day with his buddies at the Northwest Sports Show, and an evening celebrating with friends. After a couple of weeks of asking Ryker what he might like for a present, and receiving no response, I told him yesterday if he didn’t come up with something, I was going to buy him new jeans (because he desperately needs some that aren’t torn, covered in  grease, or smell like asphalt.) He said that was fine. Proof that he’s not a kid anymore. Clothing is an acceptable gift.

The last couple of weeks at work have been incredibly busy. One team member was out on vacation last week, and the remaining two of us had additional time-sensitive projects on our plates. That meant extra hours and no lunch breaks. On Friday, after an exhausting and stressful week,  our boss pulled us aside to acknowledge our efforts and express appreciation, not only his own, but that of the management team above us. Sometimes that’s all that’s needed. We’re ready to do it all again on this week!

In the midst of keeping my head above water at work is the constant battle to have something resembling dinner when I come home at the end of the day. This has become especially important because several times a week, I invite my mom to join us. I want to make sure she’s eating a decent meal on a regular basis. And that means we can’t just skate by, like we often used to, with everyone just finding sustenance in whatever’s in the fridge or cereal cupboard.

IMG_4101Problem is, after almost 28 years of marriage, I’ve finally realized that taking charge of dinner is just not Jack’s thing – even though some of his weekends fall during the week and he’s free all blessed day long! And even if he’s working the day shift and arrives home hours before I do. (But I’m not complaining, really. The man does laundry!) Jack’s more than willing to get take-out or go out somewhere, but I try not to agree to those options too often. However, consistently preparing a variety of enjoyable meals while working all day is a challenge for me. I make use of the crock-pot as much as possible, but one day last week, I realized I could prep something in the morning, and just leave simple instructions for Jack so things would be well underway by the time I got home. I used our kitchen doorway messaging system to leave instructions. (Who needs technology?) Jack says he almost didn’t see my notes! Luckily he did, and we enjoyed some tasty country-style ribs, mashed potatoes and broccoli.

I don’t like the way the days are just ticking by lately. I’m still fighting a tendency to continuously look ahead and worry about what’s next, still always feeling like there’s never enough getting done. In the back of my mind, there’s usually the idea that I’m not stopping to enjoy simple pleasures often enough. Today, an entire (mostly) unscheduled Sunday lies ahead. I have a lot on my to-do list, but I’m going to really try to just be in this day and enjoy it.

5 thoughts on “c’est la vie

  1. I suppose it’s because Lucy’s not burdened with a heavy coat that she gets special attention in bed, right, Tee? Dallas, on the other hand, can’t stand to sleep with me…he prefers sprawling out on the cool tile. The bonus is, I get ALL the covers and don’t have to share with him, ha!

    Happy B-day to your middle son. He’s about a month younger than Domer, something I hadn’t realized before. Nice with clothing becomes acceptable as a gift item!

    Sorry about your snow and hope it melted off soon. We’ve had lots of rain — and wind — which indicates that Spring really is trying. The way it howled last night, you’d have thought a wild thing was outside!!

    Like

  2. We didn’t get any snow at our end of town, but that wind was fierce.

    It’s nice to come home to dinner all prepared, isn’t it? I like to put together casseroles and leave instructions for whoever might be around, but it’s really nice when they can put together the entire meal.

    I hope you’re enjoying your Sunday.

    Like

  3. I sure hope you let a few things on your to-do list go so that you could enjoy your day.
    It’s wonderful that you make meal time a priority still. I’m slowly learning to put first things first. Figuring out what’s important to me and making time for it. Most times, a good housecleaning is sacrificed in order to do it. Luckily my hubby takes care of the daily chores and will even clean a bathroom now and again.
    Happy birthday to Ryker! Crazy isn’t it? That we’re parents of kids that age.

    Like

  4. Happy birthday to Ryker!! Twenty-five?? Time IS flying by.

    As I was out grocery shopping today, I was grumbling to myself about how I’m the one who’s gotta make dinner for everybody every day. I honestly don’t mind cooking, but it’s the planning, the shopping, blah, blah, blah. Maybe I’ll try your sticky note dinner… except I’d still have to plan and shop and blah blah blah! Okay, maybe I’ll just stop whining.

    Like

Leave a Reply

