Adultness and Babyness

Contrary to the first full week of the year, this past one seemed interminable. The pace at work was intense, (albeit positive,) and outside of work, there was a constant list of things to be done and places to go. And it was cold outside. Really cold. But in keeping with my goal of exhibiting gratefulness rather than complaining, I am thankful that my family all has plenty of warm outerwear, reliable vehicles and a comfortable, safe home with a solidly working furnace.

We had a scary circumstance late in the week. I was driving my mom back home from a doctor appointment Thursday afternoon when Jack called and said he was taking his mom to the emergency room. Jack’s sister had stopped by their mom’s house on a whim before going to work that morning. When she arrived, she found her mother lying on the living room floor. She’d been there all night, unable to reach the phone or get herself up.  Being a widow, there was no one else in the house to come to my mother-in-law’s aid until her daughter came and found her there. My sister-in-law was not expected to stop by that day. But fortunately, something prompted her to do so before going to work. Jack called it “freaky.” I called it “divine intervention.”

The doctors’ initial theories were that Jack’s mom had suffered a mini stroke, or maybe a blood clot. Those things have now been ruled out, and she seems much improved from that first day, but we’re still waiting to hear what exactly is going on. Her children, of course, want to “get her out of the house”  as soon as humanly possible. And while she’s not one to openly argue, my mother-in-law hasn’t exactly expressed her willingness to make that change. Additionally, her doctors are suggesting she may have to spend some time in transitional care before going back to any sort of independent living. Both suggestions make me feel sad for my mother-in-law. I’m fortunate in that I have always had a great relationship with her. I adore her and want her to be happy and well. And I guess the similar experiences with my one of my own parents in the past few months are still so fresh in my mind and heart that the whole thing has me feeling a bit of trepidation about her situation. I’ve said a hundred times lately that it’s a road most of us will have to travel. It’s just so hard to see our parents in decline.

Anyway, she’s in good hands for the time being as she’s still in the hospital. And the little perk that came out of all of this is that my sister-in-law needed time this weekend to be with her mother, and so she needed someone to relieve her of her Saturday babysitting duties. I gladly volunteered to take the job for the day, and so got to spend my Saturday morning with the happiest baby I’ve ever known. Our niece brought him into the house early yesterday morning. She was carrying him in his little car seat, and to protect his delicate skin from the dangerous cold during the short walk from car to house, he was covered from head to toe in a blanket. Once inside the house, I took the baby carrier from my niece and pulled back the blanket. I was then greeted with an enormous ear-to-ear baby grin! Baby L and I spent the next several hours snuggling, googling at each other, reading stories and playing. When he took a nap for a couple of hours, I baked some banana bread while I waited for him to wake up again. All in all, a great way to unwind from the stress of a rather intense week!

p.s. As far as I can tell, this video is going to come across in gigantic fashion. You’ll have to forgive me for that. For the life of me, I can’t figure out how to reduce it!

8 thoughts on “Adultness and Babyness

  1. Tee, your MIL is blessed your SIL dropped by! Can you imagine how frightened she must have felt, lying on that floor and wondering when/if she’d be found?? They say old age isn’t for sissies, and stories like this convince me they’re right. Glad you had precious time with a happy baby so you could unwind a bit!

    Like

  2. It’s scary to think of elderly people living alone. Good thing your SIL stopped by on a whim! As a friend of mine puts it, “Golden years, my ass!”
    And what baby cuteness! I think you have a future opera star there!

    Like

  3. Yep. I believe it was divine intervention too. Hope your MIL is doing well.
    And how lucky you got to spend some time with sweet Baby L! What a cutie! I haven’t cared for a baby in sooo long. Is it like riding a bicycle?

    Like

    • Thanks, Shadowrun. She is doing a bit better. Still in the hospital but heading to transitional care sometime this week.

      Baby L is just the sweetest thing. He’s got a smile for everybody and is the greatest cuddler. I had six hours with him and it didn’t seem like enough.And yes, I would say it’s like riding a bicycle. That mother’s instinct just comes right back! 🙂

      Like

  4. So sorry to hear about your mother-in-law, but I’m glad your sister-in-law thought to drop in on her. I believe it was divine intervention too. I’m starting to believe that there is no such thing as a coincidence!

    It was nice that you got to play with Baby L. I bet that smile brought lots of smiles to everyone. Babies are such fun (most of the time)!

    Like

  5. It is scary when our parents are alone and stuff like that happens. I agree with you that it was divine intervention that SIL dropped by to check on her otherwise it could have turned out worse. I hope that she recovers quickly and is back on her feet. Seems like we are all going through the same crises lately with our aging parents. It’s hard when the roles are reversed and the child becomes the parent. Prayers to you and Jack.

    And what a cute little kid. A real talker there. I bet it brought back many memories…

    Like

Leave a Reply

